Parkdale Library (Auditorium)
1303 Queen St W, Toronto, ON

Joint Federal & Provincial Annual General Meeting

This event has already taken place.

This page is for those joining us in person. If you would like to join online, please visit the Online RSVP page.

After two years of online meetings, we are excited to invite you to our 2023 Annual General Meeting and Social! We will return to an in-person meeting format (with an online/hybrid option) as we gather to celebrate the success of the past year and plan for the coming one.

During the meeting, we’ll hear important updates from our MPP Bhutila Karpoche, City Councillor Gord Perks, and TDSB Trustee Debbie King. We’ll also review the work of our riding association over the past year and discuss ways to get involved, then elect our joint Executive team for the 2023-2024 term.

Following the AGM, we will also host a social for members, volunteers, and donors from 4-6pm. We look forward to seeing you in person, and have some special guests lined up.

Everyone is welcome to attend. To be eligible to vote, you must be an NDP member in good standing.


2:15 pm: Registration Opens

2:30 pm: Annual General Meeting

  1. Call to Order
  2. Reports, updates, and Q&A:
    • MPP Bhutila Karpoche
    • Councillor Gord Perks
    • TDSB Trustee Debbie King
    • Provincial President Jason Wagar
    • Provincial Financial Agent Karen Ridley
    • Federal President Francis Kung
    • Federal Financial Agent Rob Welch

  3. Ratification of Amendments to the Parkdale-High Park NDP Constitutions

  4. Elections to the Executive

  5. Announcements

  6. Adjournment

4:00 pm: Members, volunteers, and donors social


Verifying your Membership Status

Not sure of your membership status? Please contact [email protected] or call 647.258.6047 for assistance.

If you were a member in good standing in 2022 and have not yet renewed your membership for 2023, please do so at ontariondp.ca/join.

Amendments to the Parkdake-High Park NDP Constitution

Amendments have been proposed to the Federal Constitution and By-Laws of the Riding Association:

Current Federal Constitution

Proposed amendment (corrects typos referencing the Provincial party, and clarifies email meeting notifications):

4.5: Notice for all General Meetings shall be sent not less than fourteen (14) days in advance of the meeting. Notice period requirements for nomination meetings shall be governed by the Constitution of the Ontario New Democratic Party of Canada and the Nomination Guidelines as adopted by Provincial Federal Council. Notice may be sent by email to members who have requested a notice by email a valid email address on record, otherwise it must be sent by mail.

6.2: This constitution may not be in conflict with the requirements set out in the constitution of the Ontario New Democratic Party of Canada.

Current Federal By-Laws

Proposed amendment (adds Equity Rep positions to the Federal Executive, harmonizing Executive structures with the provincial riding association):

Add clauses 1.2 and 1.3:

1.2: The Association’s representatives to equity-seeking committees of the New Democratic Party of Canada shall also be considered members of the Executive.

1.3: An individual may hold more than one role on the Executive (ie, a Co-ordinator as well as an Equity Committee Representative). Such individuals shall be considered a single member for the purposes of voting and quorum.



Nominations for Executive positions have now closed.

Nominated candidates for the 2023-2024 Executive:

Federal President

  • Francis Kung

Provincial President

  • Jason Wagar

Federal & Provincial Vice-President

  • Spencer Julien


  • Shelly Gordon

Federal Financial Agent

  • Robert Welch

Provincial Financial Agent

  • Karen Ridley

Federal Membership Secretary

  • Suhaib Abdillahi

Provincial Membership Secretary

  • Judith Penfold

Youth Representative

  • Emma Hartviksen

Fundraising Coordinator

  • Tom Parkin

Communications Coordinator

  • (vacant)

Data Coordinator

  • Justin Bull

Outreach Coordinator

  • Kim McCrory

Research Coordinator

  • Shane Pollock

Volunteer Coordinator

  • Donovan Hayden

Ethno-Racial Equity Committee Representative (Provincial)

  • (vacant)

Indigenous Committee Representative (Provincial)

  • (vacant)

LGBTQ+ Committee Representative (Provincial)

  • Jessica Cordeiro

Persons Living with DisAbilities Committee Representative (Provincial)

  • Lulu Larcenciel

Women's Committee Representative (Provincial)

  • Sky Pepin

Note that Federal Equity Committee Rep positions are subject to a pending Bylaw amendment. As such, the current Equity Committee Rep nominations are for the Provincial side only. We will bring forward a separate motion on Federal reps during the AGM, after the Bylaw amendment is passed.

Provincial Council Delegate (5 available)

  • Spencer Julien
  • Jill Marzetti
  • Judith Penfold
  • Karen Ridley
  • Jason Wagar

Provincial Council Alternate (non-voting; 2 available)

  • Wynne Hartviksen
  • Francis Kung

Take action

Become a Member
Sign up for Updates
Sign up to Volunteer
Make a Donation

Sign up for updates

Find us on social media

Make a provincial donation

Make a federal donation